Lakeshore Nature Preserve Committee

A dozen members of the Preserve Committee sit on the steps on the tip of Picnic Point for a meeting.
The Preserve Committee conducts a meeting on Picnic Point. Photo by Bryn Scriver.

The Preserve Committee is a shared-governance body made up of faculty, staff, and student members, which advises UW-Madison administration and staff on policies for stewardship and use of the Preserve.

The charge of the Lakeshore Nature Preserve Committee is “to ensure the integrity of these cherished campus resources through the provision of necessary and appropriate oversight, policies, guidelines, stewardship and management.”

Preserve Committee meetings are open to the public. For meeting dates, times, and locations, please check the events calendar.

Preserve Committee Documents

Academic staff and faculty are appointed for a three-year term, with a maximum of two terms. Student members are appointed by the Associated Students of Madison for annual terms.

2018-2019 Preserve Committee Members

Voting members

Sara Hotchkiss, faculty/CHAIR (2nd term ends July 2021)
Glen Stanosz, faculty (1st term ends July 2019)
open seat, faculty (1st term ends July 2022)
Janet Batzli, academic staff (1st term ends July 2019)
Alan Turnquist, academic staff (2nd term ends July 2020)
Joe Webb, academic staff (1st term ends July 2021)
Jacqueline Beaulieu, student (annual ASM appointment)
Andrew Busker, student (annual ASM appointment)
Morgan Grunow, student (annual ASM appointment)

Non-voting ex-officio or consultants

Gary Brown, ex officio, Director, Lakeshore Nature Preserve
Kelly Ignatoski, ex officio, Director, University Apartments
Rhonda James, consultant, Landscape Architect, Campus Planning and Landscape Architecture
Doris Dubielzig, ex officio, Board President, Friends of the Lakeshore Nature Preserve
Karen Oberhauser, ex officio, Director, UW Arboretum

Past Preserve Committee Members