Lakeshore Nature Preserve Committee

The Preserve Committee met on Picnic Point for their May 2012 meeting.

The Preserve Committee is a shared-governance body made up of faculty, staff, and student members, which advises UW-Madison administration and staff on policies for stewardship and use of the Preserve.

The charge of the Lakeshore Nature Preserve Committee is "to ensure the integrity of these cherished campus resources through the provision of necessary and appropriate oversight, policies, guidelines, stewardship and management."

Preserve Committee meetings are open to the public. For meeting dates, times, and locations, please check the events calendar.

Preserve Committee Documents

Academic staff and faculty are appointed for a three-year term, with a maximum of two terms. Student members are appointed by the Associated Students of Madison for annual terms.

2017-2018 Preserve Committee Members

Voting members

David Drake, faculty (1st term ends July 2018)
Sara Hotchkiss, faculty/CHAIR (1st term ends July 2018)
Glen Stanosz, faculty (1st term ends July 2019)
Janet Batzli, academic staff (1st term ends July 2019)
Alan Turnquist, academic staff (1st term ends July 2017)
Matilde Urrutia, academic staff (2nd term ends July 2018)
Jacqueline Beaulieu, student (annual ASM appointment)
Gabriella Bianchi, student (annual ASM appointment)
Laurel Noack, student (annual ASM appointment)

Non-voting ex-officio or consultants

Gary Brown, ex officio, Director, Lakeshore Nature Preserve
Kelly Ignatoski, ex officio, Director, University Apartments
Rhonda James, consultant, Landscape Architect, Campus Planning and Landscape Architecture
Donna Paulnock, ex officio, Interim Director, UW Arboretum
Gisela Kutzbach, ex officio, Board President, Friends of the Lakeshore Nature Preserve

Past Preserve Committee Members


Photo of Preserve Committee meeting on Picnic Point by Bryn Scriver.